Government Information: FDLP

Federal Depository Library Program and Cataloging Resources

This page contains information regarding the management of FDLP libraries and collections, as well as information on cataloging government information sources. While most of this information may not be directly useful to researchers, the following sites can be used to provide background knowledge on the organization and dissemination of government information that some outside of those who manage such collections may find useful.

Tools for Depository Libraries

The following are tools and websites specifially related to the operation of FDLP member libraries.

Essential Titles for Public Use in Paper or Other Tangible Format
A list of essential government publications currently distributed to all FDLP libraries in a tangible format, either print, micro, or CD-ROM.
Documents Dataminer
This search engine combines files from the latest version of the List of Classes of United States Government Publications available for Selection by Depository Libraries, the Item Lister's Current Item Number Selection Profiles for Depository Libraries, a
Documents Dataminer 2
An updated version of the popular search engine. See the site's introduction for more information about differences between versions.
FDLP Collection Management
Tools and information regarding the building, organizing and maintaining a tangible and electronic collections.
FDLP Community
Designed by the GPO to create an online, interactive venue for the Federal depository library community.
FDLP.gov
The main site for information from and about the Government Printing Office and the nation's Federal Depository Library system.
Federal Depository Library Directory (FDLD)
The Federal Depository Library Directory (FDLD), a service of the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP), is an interface that allows the public to access, search, and export library directory information.
Item Lister
Using our Depository Library Number (Miami University is Depository #0466A), users can see a list of depository selections by Item Number. Use the List of Classes to translate these Item Numbers into specific series of publications.
more...less...
Click this link to learn more about Item Numbers.
List of Classes (PDF)
The List of Classes is the official listing of publications available for selection by depository libraries participating in the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP).
Selection Profile
FDLP member library selection profiles.
Shipping Lists
The Daily Depository Shipping Lists include all publications that are mailed each day from GPO's Library Programs Service to depository libraries. Use the Shipping Lister to locate shipping lists in PDF format.
Superseded List
U.S. Documents That May Be Discarded By Depository Libraries, annotated for Retention By Regional Depositories.

Cataloging General Library Resources

General resources for cataloging and copy-cataloging. Library of Congress call numbers (UN and EU publications at Miami) and MARC (MAchine-Readable Cataloging) format catalog records.

Library of Congress Classification Outline
Explanation of the Library of Congress classification system and call numbers.
The Cataloging Calculator
Find LoC and geographic cutter numbers as well as language codes and AACR2 abbreviations.
OCLC Bibliographic Formats & Standards
An explanation and reference of current library bibliographic standards (cataloging practices and rules) and the MARC record format (detailed explanation of all MARC fields).

Cataloging US Federal Government Information

Resources for cataloging offical publications of the United States Government. GovDocs at Miami University are cataloged and shelved by the Superintendent of Documents classification scheme.

Superintendent of Documents (SuDocs) Classification Scheme
Explanation, examples, and structure of the Superintendent of Documents (SuDocs) Classification Scheme from the Federal Depository Library Program.
Government Documents Cataloging Cheat Sheet
Reference to specific rules and practices for cataloging US Federal Government publications in MARC format.

Cataloging Ohio Government Information

Ohio government publications are cataloged and shelved according to the Ohio Documents Classification Scheme at Miami University.

Ohio Documents Classification Scheme Index of Agencies and Commissions
The Ohio Documents Classification Scheme is used for the organization of official State of Ohio government publications.

Cataloging United Nations Information

UN publications are cataloged and shelved according to the Library of Congress classification at Miami University.

United Nations Documents Classification Scheme
The UN Documents Classification scheme for official publications of the United Nations. UN publications are classed by LoC call numbers in Miami's collection, but being familiar with this scheme can help with cataloging and retrieval. From the University of Illinois Libraries.

Cataloging European Union Information

European Union publications are cataloged and shelved according to the Library of Congress classification at Miami University.

EU Bookshop
Browse publications of the European Union.
Tools and Manuals for EU Publications
Information on European Union publications, languages, and standards.
EuroVoc, the EU's multilingual thesaurus
EuroVoc is a multilingual, multidisciplinary thesaurus covering the European Union. It contains terms in 22 EU languages (Bulgarian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hungarian, Italian, Latvian, Lithuanian, Maltese, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish and Swedish), plus Croatian and Serbian.
Identifiers for EU Publications
From the EU Interinstitutional Style Guide. Identifiers found on EU Publications. All official publications issued by the EU Publications Office will have at least one of the following identifiers: international standard book number (number or bar code), international standard serial number, digital object identifier, or a catalogue number. Catalogue numbers are used internally by the EU Publications Office and are in the format: XX-XX-XX-XXX-XX-X.

Last Updated: Apr 29, 2022 3:54 PM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/government
Print Page

Subjects: Government and Law, Political Science