MGT 303: Management Databases

Business Source Complete indexes and abstracts 4,450 scholarly business journals, of which over 3,600 are available in full-text. This database covers the subject areas of management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and marketing. It also includes other sources of full-text information such as country economic reports and detailed company profiles for 10,000 of the world's largest companies through Datamonitor

Lexis-Nexis Business includes full-text of selected business newspapers, magazines, journals, wires, and transcripts from around the world. Industry trade journals and accounting literature are also available full-text. Other subsections include company profiles from Hoovers and S&P, and company financial reports from Disclosure. SEC filings such as 10-ks and annual reports are also available, as well as company directory information.

The Value Line Investment Survey's main section, "Ratings & Reports," presents full-page, individual stock reports (encapsulating the company's past performance, current status, and outlook) and industry reviews. The "Summary & Index" provides a key to locating the latest quarterly and supplementary reports and cites the most recent data on each of the stocks followed. Finally, "Selection & Opinion," a feature section, gives Value Line's views on the economy and the stock market and on stocks of special interest. It also provides model portfolios for investors with various objectives and a number of economic and stock-market statistics. Historical data to 1997 are also available online.

WRDS includes historical financial data from CRSP and COMPUSTAT. COMPUSTAT (from Standard & Poor's) provides current and historical Income Statements, Balance Sheets, Statements of Cash Flows, and supplemental data items on more than 24,000 publicly held companies. CRSP (Center for Research in Security Prices) maintains the most comprehensive collection of security price, return, and volume data for the NYSE, AMEX and Nasdaq stock markets. Additional free data sets include: Bank Regulatory, Blockholders, CBOE Indexes, CISDM, DMEF, Dow Jones, FDIC,Fama French, Momentum, and Liquidity, Federal Reserve Bank Reports, PHLX, Penn World Tables, SEC Disclosure of Order Execution, and TRACE.

Factiva includes full-text coverage of all the major US and international newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, Washington Post, London Times, etc. It also includes television and radio transcripts, and business and trade journals as well as company reports and financial data.

Provides full-text research reports from the Conference Board on the latest issues in business management and on United States and global economics. Also includes access to their annual studies on Top Executive Compensation, Corporate Contributions and Directorship Compensation and Board Practices. There is also access to executive action series reports, in-depth analysis of critical economic topics, regular forecasts of the U.S. economy, interest rates, and foreign exchange rates, data on business executives expectations, consumer confidence, consumer internet barometer, country indicators, and help-wanted index and Conference Board of Canada publications. Note this database does NOT include business cycle indicator data, consumer confidence survey data or leading indicators data. These are separate subscriptions.

Regional Business News is a news database that includes regional business journals, newspapers, newswires, and now blogs, covering all areas of the US. Most are available as full-text