Cybersecurity (POL): Articles

What is research: Identifying Research

For your research you need articles that are:

peer reviewed (vetted by scholars working in the field)
academic (using discipline related terminology for an audience of professionals)
evidence based (provides some kind of data, statistics, for example)

Google Scholar vs Academic Indexes

Google Scholar is an internet search with algorithms designed to look for research. The search is some kind of AI/keyword hybrid.
Academic indexes (or indexes in general) use discipline specific terminology and metadata (subjects) in their search feature. They also systematically index specific journals, rather than relying on serendipitous discovery.

Basic Article Indexes

Political Science Complete
Subjects covered include comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations and political theory.

PSC provides a subject-specific thesaurus with over 17,500 terms to provide subject searching guidance to researchers. Subjects covered include comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations and political theory.
Public Affairs Index
A database that covers all aspects of national and global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international commerce and conflict. This database draws from a diverse array of scholarly journals, conference papers, trade publications and government documents. Limited full-text.
International Political Science Abstracts
Produced by the International Political Science Association, includes current indexing and abstracts of the world's leading journals in political science from 1951 to the present.
Academic Search Complete
A broad index to periodicals, Academic Search Complete covers most academic areas of study, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.

Academic Search Complete provides abstracts for more than 9,300 scholarly and popular periodicals, with full-text for more than 5,300 of these.

Focused Databases

Business Source Complete
Indexes and abstracts a number of scholarly business journals, the majority of which are available in full-text. Also includes company, industry, and country reports covering both domestic and international. Covers the subject areas of management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and marketing.

It also includes other sources of full-text information such as country economic reports and detailed company profiles for thousands of the world's largest companies. Includes some ahead of print content.
EconLit
Essential database for economics research.

EconLit indexes scholarly journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers throughout the field of Economics. Topics covered include economic development, forecasting, history, fiscal and monetary theory, business and public finance, healthcare economics, and international, regional, and urban economics.

Africa-wide Information
Limited to 1 simultaneous user. A comprehensive index of information by Africans and about Africa. Topics include politics, history, economics, business, mining, natural sciences, environment, development, social issues, anthropology, literature, language, law, music, tourism, and much more. Limited full-text.

Sources include book citations, periodicals and magazine articles, radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, pamphlets, maps, reports, theses, music recordings, and much more.
American Bibliography of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies
Online version of The American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies, which since 1956 has provided an annual comprehensive listing of journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, online resources, and selected government publications produced in the United States and Canada on all aspects of East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union.

Volumes of ABSEES for 1957-1990 are in SWORD under the call number Z2483 .A65.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Oxford campus users only. Oxford campus users only. Contains citations on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.

Includes citations to Western-language books, journal articles, conference proceedings, and chapters in edited volumes. There is a five-year lag in the publication of this bibliography.
Central & Eastern European Academic Source
Central & Eastern European Academic Source (CEEAS) is a multidisciplinary, multilingual database providing full-text coverage pertaining to all facets of central and eastern European countries.

The collection contains more than 400 full-text publications covering many academic areas including business and economics, medical sciences, political science, law, library and information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, and sociology relating to this geographic region.

Education Research Complete
Provides resources on all levels of education, including higher education and includes more professional and trade publications than indexed elsewhere.

Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for over 1,500 journals, and full-text for more than 750 of them. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. It also has the full-text for over 100 monographs and numerous education-related conference papers.
Gender Studies Database
Index to academic research on women, gender studies, sexual diversity, gender identity, masculinity, feminism, and LGBTQ issues. 1930-present, although the bulk of the content is 1970s -present.

Several hundred links provide access to carefully selected and important websites. This database includes more than 921,000 records, with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to the present.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Essential and authoritative database for sociology and related fields.

This index contains more than 1,900,000 records with subject headings from a 19,300 term sociology-specific thesaurus. This database also contains abstracts for more than 815 core coverage journals dating back to 1895. In addition, the database provides data mined from more than 630 priority coverage journals as well as 2,840 selective coverage journals. This index replaces Sociological Abstracts.
LGBTQ+ Source
Archival and current content in the area of LGBT studies. Includes topics related to civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, politics, psychology, religion, sociology and more.
Border and Migration Studies
A collection that explores and provides historical background on select border areas in Asia, Africa, the Americas, and Europe in text, video, and images.

Border areas include: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Thailand; and others.
GeoRef (EBSCOhost)
Produced by the American Geosciences Institute, this comprehensive geosciences database contains bibliographic records for geosciences literature from around the world. It contains a vast amount of indexed information covering a wide spectrum of geoscience literature. Other records featured within the database include indexed books, maps, government reports, conference papers, theses and dissertations.

Computer Source
Covers topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. Many full-text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full-text information in this database dates as far back as 1985.
Computers and Applied Sciences Complete
Computer and Applied Science Complete (CASC) covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. It contains collected knowledge on traditional engineering challenges and research, and is a resource for research concerning the business and social implications of new technology.

CASC provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources from a diverse collection. full-text is also available for more than 1,000 periodicals. Subject areas include the many engineering disciplines, computer theory and systems, new technologies, and social & professional context. Research is aided by the inclusion of searchable cited references for key journals.
Engineering Village
Access and search Compendex, Geobase, and Knovel databases here. Engineering Village takes engineering is a comprehensive database that includes the most authoritative engineering resources available to answer questions from theoretical to applied, and basic to complex.
Geobase (Engineering Village)
Geobase is a database, within Engineering Village, of indexed research literature unequalled in its coverage of the international geoscience literature. Topics include: earth sciences, ecology, geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation.

Web of Science (Core Collection)

NOTE: If prompted, please enter your MU credentials. Do not select “Institutional Sign In.” Clearing web browser cookies and cache may also fix access issues.
Use Web of Science to perform a cited reference search, where you can look up an article and see how many times it has been cited. The Web of Science Core Collection includes the following databases: Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present), Index Chemicus (1993-present). Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
AGRICOLA
Containing bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, AGRICOLA provides millions of citations relating to the field of agriculture. Citations are comprised of journal articles, book chapters, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials and technical reports to support agricultural research.

Subjects include: animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, and extension and education.
Environment Complete
Environment Complete is a leading full-text database for environmental studies. It provides hundreds of top environment journals and monographs covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, sustainability and other related subjects. It also includes millions of records and an environmental thesaurus.

Subjects include: agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, and environmental technology. This is also a useful database for searching for "architecture sustainability" and "design sustainability".
GeoScience World (including GeoRef)
GeoScience World (GSW) works with societies, institutions, and researchers around the world and provides a single source of access to preeminent scholarly journals, e-books. Also included are GeoRef records with specialized and map-based search capabilities and links to curated earth science research around the Web. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
MEDLINE (EBSCOhost)
Created by the United States National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by healthcare professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers.

Subject Headings follow the structure of the Medical Subject headings (MeSH) used by the National Library of Medicine.

Last Updated: Dec 3, 2025 10:40 AM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/Cybersecurity
Print Page

Subjects: History, International Studies, Political Science