Medical Humanities: History of Medicine

History of Medicine

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A broad index to periodicals, Academic Search Complete covers most academic areas of study, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, and engineering. This is a broad multi-subject database, so you will need to limit your searches carefully.
Academic Search Complete provides abstracts for more than 9,300 scholarly and popular periodicals, with full-text for more than 5,300 of these.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index with abstracts of journal articles, book reviews, media reviews, and dissertations on all aspects of world history from prehistory to the present. See America: History and Life for American and Canadian history. 1450 C.E. to the present.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Index with abstracts and full-text of journal articles, book reviews, media reviews, and dissertations on all aspects of American and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. See Historical Abstracts for world history.
Sources in AHL are almost all in English and include state and local history journals as well as major history journals. Search the index by keyword and limit the search by desired time-period covered in the article. For additional help in searching use the link in AHL.

A Global History of Medicine by Mark Jackson (Editor)
Call Number: TBD
ISBN: 9780198803188
Publication Date: 2018-03-11
A Global History of Medicine provides a rich introduction to histories of medicine that capture local, regional, and global dimensions of health and health care. Exploring changing patterns of disease and different systems of medicine across continents and countries, A Global History of Medicine aims to provide a constructive theoretical and empirical platform for future scholarship.