Medical Humanities: Home
Overview
This research guide provides links to resources to support research in the medical humanities, for students, faculty, and staff at Miami University. There are some "best bets" for beginning research here on the guide's homepage. See the tabs on the left-hand side of the page for information about particular areas of the medical humanities.
Best Bets
These broad search tools provide quick access to research materials on topics in the medical humanities, as well as many other topics.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA broad database focusing on academic journal articles, but including some other periodicals, Academic Search Complete covers most academic areas of study. It provides abstracts for more than 9,300 scholarly and popular periodicals, with full-text for more than 5,300 of these. Search results in this database can be limited to peer-reviwed sources, by applying this limit on the search results screen.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar provides a wide-ranging search of books and academic journal articles. It also includes PhD theses, conference proceedings, and some less scholarly sources. Includes citation tracking that allows users to view the sources that have cited each search result, and see the total number of citations that each source has received.
Reference Sources
Routledge Handbook of the Medical Humanities by ISBN: 0815374615Publication Date: 2019-08-23This authoritative new handbook offers an overview of the state of the medical humanities globally, showing how clinically oriented medical humanities, the critical study of medicine as a global historical and cultural phenomenon, and medicine as a force for cultural change can inform each other.
Health Humanities Reader by Call Number: RA418 .H435 2014ebISBN: 9780813562476Publication Date: 2014-08-28In Health Humanities Reader, editors Therese Jones, Delese Wear, and Lester D. Friedman have assembled fifty-four leading scholars, educators, artists, and clinicians to survey the rich body of work that has already emerged from the field--and to imagine fresh approaches to the health humanities in these original essays. Note that this book allows only one simultaneous user.
Palgrave Encyclopedia of the Health Humanities by ISBN: 9783031326035Publication Date: 2025-12-27Palgrave Encyclopedia of the Health Humanities provides a resource for understanding and debating the multi-, inter, and transdisciplinary research and practices of the health humanities. These reference volumes draw on the fields that link health and social care and wellbeing with the arts and humanities. The entries provide particular emphasis on the history of the field and the praxis, functions, and applications of the health humanities for individual, community, public, international, and global health.- RESEARCH METHODS IN HEALTH HUMANITIES[To be added]
Related Research Guides
Medical humanities is a highly interdisciplinary field. Below are links to some research guides to related subjects that may be of interest.
