Skip to Main Content

ALA Book Awards (2022): Caldecott / Newbery Medals

About the Medals

  • The Newberry Medal, which was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.
  • The Caldecott Medal,  named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

2022 Winners

Caldecott Medal: Watercress

Book Cover: WatercressWhile driving through rural Ohio, a Chinese American family stops to collect watercress spotted on the roadside. Initially embarrassed by its gathering, the daughter later comes to appreciate her culture after learning why the plant is important to her parents. Chin’s expressive watercolors complement the various layers of Wang’s poignant and universal story.  


Newbery Medal: The Last Cuentista

Book Cover: The Last CuentistaIn this novel, one of the few chosen to escape Earth, Petra Peña awakens into a dangerously conformist society. She uses science and her abuelita’s cuentos to resist. With immersive world-building, this novel explores what it means to be human and has the staying power to inspire long after we are gone.

“Strong themes and rich characterization abound in this lush science fiction tale that showcases the universal power of storytelling to save the world,” said Newbery Medal Committee Chair Tad Andracki. 


Getting it through the Libraries

REMINDER: if Miami's copy of a book is checked out, Miami affiliated students, faculty and staff may request another copy through OhioLINK or SearchOhio.