Writing on Environmental Issues (ENG 225): Articles
Research Article Databases
These databases below are tools for finding peer-reviewed academic research. Some are broader in focus, while others limit their indexed content more narrowly on environmental issues.
- Web of Science (All Databases) This link opens in a new windowThe Web of Science permits searches of a wide range of scholarly articles, with an emphasis on the sciences. Resources include: Web of Science Core Collection: Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1975-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2015-present), and others.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowFocusing mostly but not exclusively on academic journals, Environment Complete indexes articles on many aspect of environmental studies, including environmental aspects of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, and urban planning. Primary coverage is from 1975-present, with limited coverage from 1960
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA broad index to periodicals, Academic Search Complete covers most academic areas of study, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
- GEOBASEGeobase provides comprehensive bibliographic references to important journals in the fields of physical and human geography, geology, mineralogy, ecology and development studies. International in scope, Geobase provides coverage from over 1,800 primary journals, books, monographs, reports, and theses.
Info about journals
"Is that journal peer-reviewed or scholarly?" Find out more information about many journals in Ulrich's Periodicals Directory.
Tips:
- Search by journal TITLE or ISSN whenever possible
- Referee shirt icon means it's peer-reviewed
- Click on the journal title to see what kind of journal it is (under "Document type")
Search Tip: Use the Find It! Button
When you search a database for a "Full Text" item, you are only searching through that particular database for the document in full-text, and not our entire collection. An item may exist as a "Full Text" selection within a different database.
If you don't find an item as full-text in the database you're searching, use the "Find It" button to cross-search other databses for that same item. You may discover that we have electronic access to that material after all.