Your Librarian
PSY 343 Objectives
-
Understand the differences in sources and formats of information (e.g. books vs. journal articles vs. websites)
-
Understand more advanced structured search methods like thesaurus searching and Boolean logic (AND, OR, NOT)
-
Cite varied sources in proper APA style
Top 5 Takeaways
1. Use Database to Find Journal Articles
Different databases index different sets of journals. Use the one (or a couple) that best suits the kind of information you're looking for. Don't forget to limit to peer-reviewed journal articles! It may be wise to check out other Subject Guides.
- CINAHL Plus with Full TextPrimarily a Nursing database that includes easier-to-understand medical literature.
- MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowA large subset of PubMed's medical literature on a familiar interface. Medical literature.
- Education Research CompleteA good Education-related database that includes content on children.
- SocINDEX with Full TextUse for sociological-related topics
2. Use Lexis Nexis to identify blogs and news articles
Lexis Nexis is a full text database that provides access to national and international news publications as well as blogs. See the video below for basic search tactics.
3. Evaluate Resources
Currency(When?) When was the article published? If the article is on a website, when was the page last updated? Are links to other sites still active?
Relevance (What?) Does the information relate to your topic or answer your question? Is the information at an appropriate level (i.e. not too elementary or advanced for your needs)? Have you looked at a variety of sources before determining this is one you will use?
Authority (Who?)
Who wrote the article? What are the credentials of the author? How can I find out more about the author?
Accuracy (Where?) Is the information supported by evidence? Has the information been reviewed or refereed? Can you verify any of the information in another source? Are there spelling, grammar or typographical errors?
Purpose / Bias (Why?) What is the purpose of the periodical? What does the author say is the purpose of the article? Is the article objective or is only one point of view presented? Does the language or tone seem unbiased and free of emotion?
4. Use reliable tools to help you cite properly
Your BEST resource for citing any of your sources in proper APA style is to use the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th Edition which you can find at King, BEST, or the Center for Psychological Inquiry (PSYC 130). Most databases offer a citation, but be sure to take those as suggestions as they are often incorrect.
- APA Style Guide to Electronic ResourcesAn electronic version of part of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th edition. Details how to cite electronic resources such as journal articles found in a database, blogs, videos and more.
- Purdue's OWLPurdue's Online Writing Lab is one of the best online resources for citation help. Use the menu on the left side of the OWL to navigate for appropriate source assistance.
5. ASK if/when you need help!