Skip to main content

Psychology: PSY 293

Databases

Tests and Measures

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5)

Boolean Operators

When searching research databases, you could combine search terms using Boolean operators. Use AND to combine terms or sets of terms, OR to include synonyms or different ways of expressing a concept, and  NOT to eliminate terms that are resulting in a high number of false hits.

Venn Diagrams demonstrating boolean searching

http://www.leicester.ac.uk/li/sources/subject3/physics/ist/boolean.html

Subject Guide

Anna Liss Jacobsen's picture
Anna Liss Jacobsen

Office Hours

Please email me or use the above automated appointment scheduler. I also hold regular drop-in office hours during the Spring and Fall semesters.

Psychology Building: CPI
Mondays: 9 a.m. - noon
Tuesdays: noon - 3 p.m.
Contact:
B.E.S.T. Library
219C Laws Hall
jacobsa8@miamioh.edu
513-529-1633

Search and Cite Methods

APA Citation Resources

Get Full-Text Using the Find It! Button

Find It! Button

When you search a database for a "Full Text" item, you are only searching through that particular database for the document in full-text, and not our entire collection.  An item may exist as a "Full Text" selection within a different database.

If you don't find an item as full-text in the database you're searching, use the "Find It" button to cross-search other databses for that same item.  You may discover that we have electronic access to that material after all.