chat loading...

2024 Presidential Election

A guide to finding information about the candidates and issues that are part of the 2024 election.

Voting

How to Vote
This is your guide to everything you need to know to register and vote in your state. The information in these guides originates from official state sources and is reviewed by state election offices.
TurboVote
We make sure you always know when elections are happening, and have the information you need to vote with confidence. Sign up to receive election reminders, get registered to vote, & apply for your absentee ballot!

Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
It combines biographies from multiple Gale reference publications, such as Contemporary Authors, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Dictionary of American Biography, and Directory of American Scholars, with articles from more than 300 magazines, such as American History, The Christian Century, and U.S. News & World Report.
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Biography Reference Bank allows students and patrons to quickly find the content they're are looking for. Users can search for individuals based on any combination of occupation, activity, gender, place of origin, birthday and lifespan. Results can be limited by source type, and searchable indexes can be used to browse by biography name, document type, geographic terms and more. Some third party publications are included, such as a subset of the biographies from Oxford's American National Biography.
American National Biography Online This link opens in a new window

CQ Press Political Reference Suite This link opens in a new window
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
PSC provides a subject-specific thesaurus with over 17,500 terms to provide subject searching guidance to researchers. Subjects covered include comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations and political theory.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
New York Times This link opens in a new window
If you already have a NYTimes.com account using your university e-mail address, you may log in with those credentials. Students may also be asked to enter their anticipated graduation date. When you see START YOUR ACCESS, the expiration time and date of your pass will appear. Go to NYTimes.com and enjoy full access from any location. Faculty, staff, and students will need to renew their access every 6 months from an on campus location, as prompted by the NYT
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Previously called LexisNexis Academic. Nexis Uni is an outstanding source for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains full-text of sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media.

If single sign on fails use this url:
https://proxy.lib.miamioh.edu/login?url=https://www.nexisuni.com

The Media Bias Chart was created by Vanessa Otero. It lays out the complexities of the media landscape in two dimensions: reliability, on the vertical axis, and bias, on the horizontal axis. The chart is interactive and each media source can be viewed on its own to clearly see where it falls on the chart.
A smaller chart that focuses on the most popular media sources can be found from AllSides.

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Gardner-Harvey Library
4200 N. University Blvd.
Middletown, OH 45042

(513)727-3225

Subjects: Applied Social Research, Civic and Regional Development, Communication Studies, Forensic Science and Investigation, Psychological Science

Ars Technica: Deepfakes are Getting Better - but they're still easy to spot
Article addresses some of the issues with identifying the latest technology in deepfakes—seemingly realistic video or audio generated using machine learning
Seeing Isn't Believing: The Washington Post guide to manipulated Video
A terrific overview of the different kinds of faked video and how to identify them.
Disinformation and the 2020 Election: How the Social Media Industry Should Prepare
This report assesses some of the forms and sources of disinformation they predicted would play a role during the presidential election campaign in 2020.