This is the "Home" page of the "Journal Citation Reports and Other Tools for Preparing Your Dossier" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Journal Citation Reports and Other Tools for Preparing Your Dossier  

Last Updated: Mar 19, 2014 URL: http://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/dossier Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Cited References

Web of Science (MU database)

Current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 journals. Miami subscribes to three of the Thomson database products, Science Citation Index (1965-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present). The unique feature of Web of Science is the cited reference search, where you can look up an article and see how many times it has been cited. h-index is also calculated for authors.

ORCID

ORCID is an open, non-profit, community-based effort to provide a registry of unique researcher identifiers and a transparent method of linking research activities and outputs to these identifiers.  ORCID reaches across disciplines, research sectors, and national boundaries.  ORCID also can help unite other unique IDs, like Web of Science's ResearchID.

Google Scholar & Google Scholar Citations

Search by author to get links to publications citing works by that author or search by article title to get links to publications citing the particular article. Searches scholarly publications on the web as identified by Google Scholar.  Citations provides a simple way for authors to keep track of citations to their articles. You can check who is citing your publications, graph citations over time, and compute several citation metrics. You can also make your profile public, so that it may appear in Google Scholar results when people search for your name.

Publish or Perish

Free downloadable software that retrieves and analyzes citations from Google Scholar, Publish or Perish is designed for academics to use to demonstrate the impact of their research when applying for promotion, tenure, or a job.  Searches provide statistics for a number of factors that demonstrate faculty productivity, including:

  • Total number of papers

  • Total number of citations

  • Average number of citations per paper

  • Average number of citations per author

  • Average number of papers per author

  • Average number of citations per year

 

Evaluating/Ranking Content

Eigenfactor

Evaluates impact and cost effectiveness of journals.  Uses citation data from Journal Citation Reports (JCR).  Rankings include both an Eigenfactor score (measures importance to scientific community) and Article Influence score (average influence of article within 5 years after publication, similar to the Impact Factor in JCR). Learn more about Eigenfactor.

Journal Citation Reports

Part of Thomson's Web of Science, this tool ranks the relative importance of science and social science journals within their subject categories using citation data. Allows you to identify the most frequently cited, highest impact or largest journals in a given field.

Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory

Bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription.

Cabell's Directories

Access Cabell's Directories in Accounting, Economics & Finance, Management, Marketing, Educational Curriculum & Methods, Educational Psychology & Administration, and Educational Technology & Library Science to see journal-specific publishing information about type of peer review, number of external reviewers, acceptance rate, fees, etc.

 

Definitions

Journal Impact Factor is the average number of times articles from the journal published in the past two years have been cited in the JCR year.  The impact factor is calculated by dividing the number of citations in the JCR year by the total number of citations of articles published in the two previous years. An impact factor of 1.0 means that, on average, the articles published one or two year ago have been cited one time. An impact factor of 2.5 means that, on average, the articles published one or two year ago have been cited two and a half times. Citing articles may be from the same journal; most citing articles are from different journals. The impact factor mitigates the importance of absolute citation frequencies. It tends to discount the advantage of large journals over small journals because large journals produce a larger body of citable literature. For the same reason, it tends to discount the advantage of frequently issued journals over less frequently issued ones and of older journals over newer ones. Because it offsets the advantages of size and age, it is a valuable tool for journal evaluation.

Journal Cited Half-Life is the median age of the articles that were cited in the JCR year. Half of a journal's cited articles were published more recently than the cited half-life. For example, in JCR 2001 the journal Crystal Research and Technology has a cited half-life of 7.0. That means that articles published in Crystal Research and Technology between 1995-2001 (inclusive) account for 50% of all citations to articles from that journal in 2001.  Only journals cited 100 or more times in the JCR year have a cited half-life. A higher or lower cited half-life does not imply any particular value for a journal. For instance, a primary research journal might have a longer cited half-life than a journal that provides rapid communication of current information. Cited half-life figures may be useful to assist in collection management and archiving decisions.

Journal Citing Half-Life is the median age of articles cited by the journal in the JCR year. For example, in JCR 2003, the journal Food Biotechnology has a citing half-life of 9.0. That means that 50% of all articles cited by articles in Food Biotechnology in 2003 were published between 1995 and 2003 (inclusive).  Only journals that publish 100 or more cited references have a citing half-life.

 

Disclaimer

Each department has its own unique policies and requirements for tenure dossiers. The workshop today is only intended to provide information about journal ranking and citation tracking. Please discuss your dossier with your department chair.

 

Assistance

If you would like additional assistance, contact your Subject Librarian.

 

Article-Level Metrics

Article-Level Metrics

Download the SPARC primer on ALMs.

ImpactStory

ImpactStory aggregates altmetrics: diverse impacts from your articles, datasets, blog posts, and more.

Altmetric Bookmarklet

This bookmarklet displays article level metrics when you view an article online that has a DOI, PubMed ID, or arXiv ID.

 

Book Publication/Library Holdings

WorldCat Identities

Combines information from WorldCat and Amazon to create a profile for an author, including a publication timeline, list of author's publications, number of libraries holding a particular publication, reviews of the publication, and publication details.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip