Education: EDT 433/533: Social Studies Resources

Assignments and Lesson Plans

• edhelper: History Lesson Plans http://www.edhelper.com/
• EducationWorld: History http://www.educationworld.com/history/
• Learning Page: American Memory http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/ndlpedu/index.html
• SCORE: Schools of California Online Resources for Education http://score.rims.k12.ca.us/
• Edsitement http://edsitement.neh.gov/
• Cyberbee http://www.cyberbee.com/
• Smithsonian Education http://www.smithsonianeducation.org/educators/index.html
• American Memory, Lessons by Content Standard: http://www.loc.gov/teachers/standards/index.php

Online Textbooks

• History Matters: U.S. Survey http://historymatters.gmu.edu/
• World History Matters http://chnm.gmu.edu/whm/
• Digital History http://www.digitalhistory.uh.edu/

Websites

• Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and The New Media https://rrchnm.org/
• Digital History (National Archives ) https://www.archives.gov/education

Searching Techniques

1. Search through one of the directories or one of the larger sites, such as American Memory first. Using someone else's organization and selection is often useuful and timesaving.
2. Search for the object or the person involved, not for what that artifact represents. For instance search for slaves or slavery and not abolitionism.
3. When your results are large and you are using a search engine, limit by type of image (color, greyscale,etc.) and domain name, such as .edu.

Images

• Wayback Machine http://www.archive.org/index.php
• Digital Librarian: Images http://www.digital-librarian.com/images.html
• Timepix http://www.timelifepictures.com/
• Ad* Access http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/adaccess/
• Africa Photo http://www.africa-photo.com/
• Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture http://decorativearts.library.wisc.edu/
• Digital South Asia Library http://dsal.uchicago.edu/

Audio

• Great Speeches (History Channel) http://www.historychannel.com/speeches/
• History and Politics Out Loud http://www.hpol.org/

Video

• Movietone http://www.movietone.com/
• AdCouncil Campaigns http://www.adcouncil.org/default.aspx?id=61
• American Memory http://lcweb.loc.gov/rr/mopic/ndlmps.html
• Britishpathe (mostly news) http://www.britishpathe.com/
• British Movietone News http://www.movietone.com/
• ITN Archive http://www.itnarchive.com/
• WPA Film Library http://www.wpafilmlibrary.com/
• Movie Archive http://www.archive.org/details/movies

Mixed

• Library and Archival Exhibitions on the Web
  http://www.sil.si.edu/SILPublications/Online-Exhibitions/
• American Memory http://memory.loc.gov/
• George Eastman House http://www.eastmanhouse.org/
• Internet Archive http://www.archive.org/
• Newseum http://www.newseum.org/

Search Engines

Images

• Picsearch http://www.picsearch.com/
• Amazing Picture Machine http://www.ncrtec.org/picture.htm
• Google http://www.google.com (click on images)

Audio

• Findsounds http://www.findsounds.com/

Guides to Using and Evaluating Primary Sources

• National Archives Document Analysis Worksheets https://www.archives.gov/education/lessons/worksheets
• Using Primary Sources on the Web (RUSA) http://www.ala.org/rusa/sections/history/resources/primarysources
• Yale University Primary Sources http://www.library.yale.edu/ref/err/primsrcs.htm
• History Matters: Making Sense of Evidence http://historymatters.gmu.edu/browse/makesense/
• Learning to Read Primary Documents https://teachinghistory.org/teaching-materials/teaching-guides/25690

Sites With Assignments For Primary Sources

• Primary Sources: Lesson Plans American Memory http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/ndlpedu/lessons/psources/pshome.html
• DoHistory (Diary of Martha Ballard) http://www.dohistory.org/ 

Selected Sites With and Collections of Primary Source Materials

• Valley of the Shadow: Two Communities in the American Civil War http://valley.vcdh.virginia.edu/
• Ohio Memory http://www.ohiomemory.org/
• Greater Cincinnati Memory Project http://www.cincinnatimemory.org/
• Digital History http://www.digitalhistory.uh.edu/
• History Internet Sourcebooks http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/
• United States Historical Census Browser http://fisher.lib.virginia.edu/collections/stats/histcensus/
• Avalon Project: Documents In Law History and Diplomacy http://avalon.law.yale.edu/default.asp
• Making of America Project http://cdl.library.cornell.edu/moa/
• Documenting the American South http://docsouth.unc.edu
• EuroDocs http://eudocs.lib.byu.edu/index.php/Main_Page
• Electronic Text Center http://www.lib.virginia.edu/digital/reports/uva_lib_projects.htm
• Digtial Librarian's List of Etexts http://www.digital-librarian.com/electronic.html
• The European History Highway: A Guide to Internet Resources. Dennis A. Trinkle and Scott A. Merriman, editors. Armonk, N.Y.: M.E. Sharpe, 2002.