Subject & Course Guides: MKT 442: Home

Concussion Resources

Statista - US Concussion Data
MedlinePlus - Concussion
Provides definition, link to tests and treatment options.
Concussion Legacy Foundation

Marketing Medical Devices

How to Study and Market Your Device
From the FDA - background information
8 Key Focal Points when Marketing Medical Devices
5 medical device marketing strategies that will increase brand recognition
Tips for selling medical devices to hospitals and IDNs
Integrated delivery networks and their growing influence on regional healthcare in the United States
Explains what IDNs are.

Additional Healthcare Data

American Hospital Association - Fast Facts
Fair Health (corporate)
Repository for private claims data. Reports, white papers and other infographics are available. Not all data is free.
Fair Health Consumer
Explanations of healthcare costs and insurance for consumers.
Medical Device Manufacturing Association
National Center for Health Statistics
Clearinghouse of national healthcare statistics
Open Payments Data
Learn about the financial relationships that drug and medical device companies have with healthcare providers.
Physician Specialty Data Report
Find doctors based on specialty in the US

Best Bets - Sports Injuries Research

Sports and Medical Research

SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus with full-text is the definitive database for sports and sports medicine research. Providing hundreds of full-text sports medicine journals, it is an essential tool for health professionals and researchers studying fitness, health and sports.
Subjects include: clinical specialties, coaching and education, consumer health, exercise science and fitness, health education, kinesiology, nutrition, occupational health and safety, physical education, physical therapy, and sports sciences.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is the standard database for health and biomedical engineering research.
MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from biomedical journals published in the United States and other countries. The database contains citations dating back to the mid-1950's. Journal articles are indexed for MEDLINE using NLM's subject heading system, MeSH (Medical Subject Headings).
Sports Business Research Network This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text articles from 14 sports-business publications, as well as 2,500 + tables covering participation, attendance, consumer expenditures, and market shares for 34 sports and fitness activities. Also features a directory information for amateur and professional sporting organizations, venues, trade associations, etc.
Sports Medicine and Education Index This link opens in a new window
Coverage includes sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology.

Marketing Tactics

eMarketer This link opens in a new window
Provides charts, forecasts, and reports on marketing, advertising, ecommerce, finance, healthcare, and tech industries with an emphasis on consumer behavior.
SRDS Media Solutions This link opens in a new window
Useful for information on hospital and medical journals advertising.

Local Demographics

SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
This web-based mapping application allows users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables Access is limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Miami's subscription includes access to data from the EASI Standard Package (which includes data from the year 2000, 2010, Current Estimates, and Five Year Projections), the EASI Life Stages Package, the Experian SimmonsLOCAL, and the Nielsen Claritas PRIZM&‌Acirc; Data Packages.